Mentorship

on

Hello everyone! It’s your girls, Sernah Essien and Mariel Cariker, and we’re here to talk to you about a very important theme of FYSOP: ~mentorship~!

So what on earth is a mentor?? How do I get one?? What kind of relationship are we supposed to have?? Well, lucky for you you’ve got two pals here ready to answer all of these questions for you. A mentor is defined as “an experienced and trusted advisor.” These can be any influential people in your life, whether they have always been in your life or whether you actively sought them out. The relationship between a mentee and mentor can be anything you want it to be- formal or non-formal, very close or minimally close, lit or not lit- as long as there is trust and mutual respect involved.

A special part of FYSOP are the relationships that form between the first-year students and their upperclassmen staff leaders. Many people find a friend (or ~a mentor~) in one or more of their staff leaders.

Mariel here, as a freshman, I came into FYSOP very nervous about what was to come. By the end of the week I had befriended all three of my staff leaders, who I still keep in touch with almost two years later! One of them in particular, Giancarlo, has encouraged me to tap into my greatest potential and work toward my goals. He’s a huge reason why I applied for the FYSOP coordinator position to begin with. Our friendship means so much to me, and I wouldn’t know him if I never did FYSOP!

Sernah in the house. Outside of FYSOP, I’ve found mentors through various programs at BU, like Women In Science and Engineering (WISE) *look for them at Splash!* They’ve helped me realize the scope of careers and opportunities available to me, while also being a friend and consistent coffee date.

On a final note, make sure to check out FYSOP’s most recent video about, you guessed it, mentorship! Hear our Community Service Center senior and summer staff, as well as some special BU faculty, talk about their experiences with mentorship. 

Leave a Reply

